Weekly recap and Philadelphia Marathon

This past week had been pretty good workout wise. I accomplished every thing I had set out to do when I put my schedule together on Monday, but, this is more or less is what I always try to hit every week (with varying degrees of running).

Mon: REST
Tuesday: Run 4 miles (Speed work), Strengthing
Wednesday: Run 4 miles (Pace), Spin
Thursday: Run 4 miles (Speed work)
Friday: Strengthening
Saturday: Run 3 miles (Pace) Hot Yoga
Sunday: Long run (7 miles)

This is my plan for the next six weeks leading up to the Brooklyn Half, though I plan to increase my Tuesday and Thursday runs by a mile every 2 weeks and my long run by at least a mile either every week or every other week.

It gets hard to motivate myself to fit in the strengthening, spin and yoga (or pilates) classes, but I am happy I was able to fit in everything last week.  This week, I’m not sure if I’m feeling quite as ambitious since I want to focus more on my runs…but we’ll see how it goes! If I can just get my lazy self up in the morning, I could knock out my runs and have the evenings open for classes.  With the weather warming up, I’m hoping I can start getting in the habit of doing so.

In other news, I tentatively signed up for the Philadelphia Marathon in November.  My first Marathon!  I say tentative because in the 0.00001% chance I get into the NYC Marathon this year , I would obviously forgo Philly.  If I’m being honest, it wasn’t my first choice.  I hesitated too long for both Chicago and the Marine Corps (hah, 2 hours too long for the MCM!) which would have been my second and third choices respectively.  But I’m trying to get excited for Philadelphia!  Since this is the third year I’ve applied to the NYC Marathon and likely won’t get in again, I can take some comfort in knowing I will be running it in 2013. So if you are reading this NYRR, if you need some tshirt inspiration, I look most fabulous in black, dark red and dark blue.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

