NYC Half Recap

I need to get into a better routine of updating.

The NYC Half came and passed. It went pretty well though I did let my nerves get the best of  me leading up to it. I just need to remember that it’s just a race, it’s not the end of the world if my time doesn’t improve, or things don’t go exactly as planned–you just never know how  your body will fare come race day. Other than my sore shins I was experiencing the previous few weeks, I was feeling a lot stronger and faster than when I was training for my first half which was last September–the Philadelphia RockNRoll. My knee issues seemed to have disappeared–though replaced with possible shin splits–but that wasn’t effecting my running too much.  I was still extremely nervous for that run, though I didn’t have as high of expectations for myself, which I think made it a little more enjoyable. I had a goal at the time–which was to break 2:05, and I did even better than that by finishing in1:59–but I believe I would have been happy no matter what.

It’s hard to say if I worked harder this time around than before, because I was following a similar plan. But I had added an extra (somewhat optional, depending on how my body was feeling) day of running, following through  with more speed/interval runs, and had recently added one day (when time permitted that is) of spin into the mix. I can probably write up an entire post about my new love of spin and how I feel it’s been helping with my running, but I will save that for another day!

So my goal going into the NYC half was to either hit or break 1:55. I didn’t think it was a stretch as I knew I could break a 9:00 pace, but I was a little weary of the hills in Central Park, since I don’t do a whole lot of hill work. But, come race day, it didn’t seem to phase me. I felt pretty strong all throughout the first 6 miles, which was a full loop of the park. I was starting to lose a little bit of momentum going into the 7-8th mile just because I had to go to the bathroom and I refused to stop! But those were also probably the most fun since they were right through Times Square. At mile 9ish my left shin started to hurt again. For about half a mile I was worried about having to slow down, but I just kept sticking to my pace and for the most part, I was able to ignore it.  I should also add, that I wore my fancy (and expensive) running socks that day.  Though I have worn them before, I realized later I had never worn them with that particular set of shoes.  What a bad idea! I felt like I was getting blisters on my feet the entire run. Always wear what you’re used to! I had other things to worry about during the race, but I know I would have been a lot more comfortable if I just worn my normal socks. The remainder of the run went by in a blur. I didn’t  enjoy the tunnel so much though. It was hot and sticky and I lost my tiny water bottle (which is like my security blanket) at the start of it and started to panic. But as we exited, I saw the 800m to go sign and knew I was home free and finished in 1:51. Looking at my splits, I maintained a pretty consistent pace of 8:26-8:31 throughout the entire run, so I was definitely pleased with that.

5K:    0:26:27
10K: 0:52:28
15K  1:18:44
20K   1:45:42
Net:   1:51:26

So I was very happy with the outcome, but….
1) I still want to do better!
2) Next time I plan on trying to enjoy the race more, instead of being so worried about every little thing that could possibly effect my time.

With that said, I took about a week off of a strict running schedule, but this week I’m back to it as I prepare for the Brooklyn Half in May!

Leave a Reply

